A Coded Message


I opened the book


to the inside cover


finding an inscription,


her handwriting


the plangent confession


of a false person,


outlined words


written by a hand


cold to wisdom


and redemption,


transcribing a message


as though drowning,


mouth held open


by shards of


broken glass


making sure her throat


filled with liquid


one way or another.


I read the note


several times,


each and every word,


between the lines,


left to right


and right to left,


with my eyes


and with my heart.


It was translucent and


as thin and sheened


as wax paper.


The book shifted


between my fingers


as the words unraveled,


dripping from the page


onto my hands,


and when I looked at her,


she had melted


behind her smile.




About Christopher Hivner:
I live in Pennsylvania, usually write while listening to music and enjoy an occasional cigar outside on a star-filled night. I have recently been published in Yellow Mama, Eye on Life Magazine, Dead Snakes and Illumen. A book of my horror short stories, The Spaces between Your Screams, was published by eTreasures Publishing. You can connect with me at www.chrishivner.com or on Twitter @your_screams.

