The Reminder

by Heather Ann Schmidt


I feel Lou Hoover’s ghost walk with me

as I go under the arch

and see their names

recalling Tientsin.



And I remember leafing through the pages of

her diary from that June.

their bravery reminding me

that today it is good to dance in the rain,

lifting my arms up to the sky,

expecting a starling to land on my palm

creating the opportunity for an

impromptu duet. 


 


* * * * *
Heather Ann Schmidt has taught writing and more for several institutions of higher learning in Michigan and online. Her most recent poetry books are The Bat’s Love Song: American Haiku (2009, Crisis Chronicles), On Recalling Life Through the Eye of the Needle [2011, Village Green], Transient Angels [2011, Crisis Chronicles] and Batik [2012, NightBallet]. She is also the founding editor and publisher for Recycled Karma Press.  Heather’s forthcoming collections include Red Hibiscus and Field Notes.  Find more at http://heatherannschmidt.yolasite.com.

