Paul Laurence Dunbar
Paul Laurence Dunbar, 1872-1906



A Negro Love Song
by Paul Laurence Dunbar
[from Lyrics of Lowly Life, 1896]
 

Seen my lady home las’ night,
     Jump back, honey, jump back.
Hel’ huh han’ an’ sque’z it tight, 
     Jump back, honey, jump back.
Hyeahd huh sigh a little sigh, 
Seen a light gleam f’om huh eye,
An’ a smile go flittin’ by– 
     Jump back, honey, jump back.

Hyeahd de win’ blow thoo de pine, 
     Jump back, honey, jump back.
Mockin’-bird was singin’ fine, 
     Jump back, honey, jump back.
An’ my hea’t was beatin’ so, 
When I reached my lady’s do’,
Dat I couldn’t ba’ to go– 
     Jump back, honey, jump back.

Put my ahm aroun’ huh wais’, 
     Jump back, honey, jump back.
Raised huh lips an’ took a tase, 
     Jump back, honey, jump back.
Love me, honey, love me true?
Love me well ez I love you?
An’ she answe’d, “‘Cose I do”– 
     Jump back, honey, jump back. 
 


* * *

   

