My Favorite Part Of Ramadan Is I Get To Quit Masturbating
by William Merricle

I listened to my heart.
She whispered,
“I’m in love, and it’s not with you.”

Adjusting to self-betrayal
Is like scraping ice
Off tears.

Atlas shrugged
Up a way to justify his selfishness.
His cock tastes half-exhumed
To him.

When all you do is
Spin wheels in the filth
It’s easy to be innocent.

Loneliness bumps and grinds
Against my body.
She moans, “I miss you.”
I pass out from anticipation.

The next morning, she sighs,
“Don’t shower yet.
I used up all the hot water
Having sex.”” 

* * *

William Merricle lives in Lima, Ohio. His poetry has been published in PuddingSlipstream
ZeroCity, and many other publications. His latest chapbook, Heimlich The Donut, is available
at Pudding House Publications.

“My Favorite Part Of Ramadan Is I Get To Quit Masturbating” © 2010 by William Merricle, used with permission

