Death Picnic
by Misti Rainwater-Lites

reddest roses climb their chaos
up my legs
around my ass
my
breasts
my aching throat
this spring I have been
crowned His
Favorite Dead Thing

ants nibble my chicken fried toes
lizards
drown in melted chocolate
ice cream river
meat pies rot in the
basket
the blanket is decorated
with my cast bones

he sees a
wicked orchid
in his next week
decadent with
fragrance

* * *

Misti Rainwater-Lites
has
chapbooks available from Kendra Steiner Editions, Deadbeat
Press, Scintillating Publications and Erbacce Press. Misti’s newest
full-length poetry collections, Blank Cake and
Sloppy Mouth,
will be available this spring from Coatlism Press and American
Mettle Books
,
respectively.  Follow Misti’s blog, Ubiquitous
Dandelion
,
for updates and general goofiness.

 

